Community property is defined as property owned by a husband and wife residing in a community property state. Because of their marital status, both husband and wife have an undivided one-half interest in the community property. There are nine community property states: Arizona (AZ), California (CA), Idaho (ID), Louisiana (LA), Nevada (NV), New Mexico (NM), Texas (TX), Washington (WA) and Wisconsin (WI). In addition, Puerto Rico is a community property jurisdiction. Need more info? Click “Ask Our Lawyers” at the top of this page.